September Staff Picks

 

If there is anything we love more than reading books...it's talking about them! Scroll down to see what books we are raving about this month. 

 

Want more recommendations?!

Check out our full Staff Picks Page and take a peek at which books our booksellers can't stop talking about.

 

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
When We Make It Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593324486
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dial Books - September 21st, 2021

This novel-in-verse, about a young girl growing up in Bushwick in the 90s, is so full of compassion, grace, sadness, humor, and hope that it will resonate in your heart, mind, and body long after you finish reading it. -Amanda


Staff Pick Badge
Bubble Cover Image
By Jordan Morris, Sarah Morgan, Tony Cliff (Illustrator), Natalie Riess (Contributions by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250245564
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: First Second - July 13th, 2021

A potentially dark terrifying scenario that is turned into a fun thrilling romp centered around an app for monster hunting. Modern satire, great action, and heart warming character growth are the recipe that made this a graphic novel that kept me up on a 2am subway ride home. For fans of Saga, Adventure Zone , Bryan lee O'Malley , Rat Queens and Infinity Train.
-Hanz


Staff Pick Badge
Disobey!: A Philosophy of Resistance Cover Image
By Frederic Gros, David Fernbach (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781788736329
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Verso - May 4th, 2021

The content within is urgent and incendiary. Why do we obey authority? How can we resist unjust lawmakers? Whether it's political extremism, murderous police, or economic inequality, one thing is certain: disobedience is our political responsibility as citizens of an unjust world.
-Lorenzo


Staff Pick Badge
Canyon Dreams: A Basketball Season on the Navajo Nation Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525534686
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Blue Rider Press - June 29th, 2021

A spare and tender glimpse into the world of high school basketball as experienced on a Navajo reservation. It goes beyond the highs and lows of sports, and introduces you to an entire community, their worries and triumphs, sorrows and moments of joy.
-Mindy


Staff Pick Badge
Feral Creatures Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538735244
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 24th, 2021

As someone who loved Hollow Kingdom I couldn't wait to get my hands on this sequel. A great mix of apocalypse horror and adventure with really memorable characters.
-Will


Staff Pick Badge
I, Tituba, Black Witch of Salem Cover Image
$13.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780345384201
Published: Ballantine Books - January 3rd, 1994

Maryse Conde's sparse, fatalistic drama manifests and playfully subverts the classic, Western witch hunt narrative by resurrecting the historical figure of Tituba, who was a Barbadian slave in Salem, Massachusetts and the only Black woman ever convicted of witchcraft in America. Alternately bleak and wryly funny, I TITUBA, BLACK WITCH OF SALEM fills a tragic void in history by giving voice to a name that time forgot.
-Steven


Staff Pick Badge
People Love Dead Jews: Reports from a Haunted Present Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393531565
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 7th, 2021

I can't stop thinking about this book. This is an uncomfortable, funny, sad, well-researched, compassionate, and very, very angry collection of essays. No one comes out unscathed, including the author. If you’ve ever wondered why people seem to really dig Holocaust novels Horn has a compelling (and totally disheartening!) theory. Or read it for the essay where she and her ten year old son listen to a production of The Merchant of Venice because ohmigosh that play. It is my heartfelt and fervent wish that this book reaches a wide variety of readers.
-Amanda


Staff Pick Badge
In the Wild Light Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524720247
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 10th, 2021

This book owned my heart from the first page. It tackles very heavy topics (addiction, grief, the contentious American political landscape) in such quiet, delicate, and graceful ways that my heart sang when I read it. It also has some of the most amazing nature writing I've read in a while. (Think Olivia Laing, Annie Dillard, Wendell Berry.) This is a love letter to the Tennessee landscape, a beautiful story about love and friendship, and perfectly captures the fear and excitement of being on the precipice of great change.
-Amanda


Staff Pick Badge
Below the Edge of Darkness: A Memoir of Exploring Light and Life in the Deep Sea Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525509240
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Random House - July 27th, 2021

If you give an adventurer a giant tree, she'll fall and break her spine but not notice for years until she has to go the hospital and undergo a surgery that results in a bout of blindness. If you give a scientist a bout of blindness, she'll become fascinated by light and optics and make breakthrough discoveries about bio-luminescence. If you give a bio-luminescence research team a deep-sea submarine, they'll probably encounter a giant squid. This incredible autobiography could have succeeded as a fictional adventure story, a medical mystery drama, a companion to Merleau-Ponty, or a science textbook. But it did all three so well, and offered a ton of inspiration and a little bit of real hope on top of that. For fans of science podcasts and saving the world.
-Aly


Staff Pick Badge
A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735225312
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Books - March 24th, 2020

Nearly unbelievable and quite engrossing, this book covers the covert operations of WWII’s impressive American spy Virginia Hall as she works to equip and liberate France from Nazi control through subversion and sabotage. Overcoming discrimination not only as a woman but also an amputee, Ms. Hall proved to be one of the most vital operatives of the SOE and OSS, arming rebel groups and gathering intel in Lyon and southern France. ?Multiple times while reading this was I utterly floored that her story is not widely known, as at times it reads like a straight-up 007 adventure. At the halfway point, enough had already happened to fill two action-packed feature films. Virginia Hall’s story is absolutely worth reading & admiring.
-Holly


Staff Pick Badge
Infinite Country: A Novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781982159467
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - March 2nd, 2021

Sparse and affecting, this novel follows one Colombian family
who, through fateful yet ordinary decisions, is fractured between their native Bogotá and the U.S. The story is rich with ambient language and poignant observations. In just under two hundred pages, Engel encapsulates the human toll of a bordered world and the tensions inherent in loving across distance. I was struck by the way Engel crafted the story to be both coherent and disparate, descriptive yet lean. It was as though the book’s style reflected the family’s situation. Masterfully, the novel balances heartbreaking circumstance with remarkable resilience in a way that does not reduce any character to an inspirational story. They are fiercely loyal to one another and so they press on, simply because they must.
-Holly