Jerakah

Jerakah (they/them)

Jerakah has wanted to be a bookseller since they were a wee lad. An avid poetry reader, Jerakah is excited to recommend both classics and new poems. They also love weird fiction—the weirder the better.


 

Black Punk Now By Chris L. Terry (Editor), James Spooner Spooner (Editor) Cover Image
By Chris L. Terry (Editor), James Spooner Spooner (Editor)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781593767457
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Soft Skull - October 31st, 2023

From the creator of Afro-Punk, James Spooner, and novelist Chris L. Terry, Black Punk Now is celebration of modern Black punk. Through short comics, fiction, interviews and essays, this collection is a great introduction to the aesthetics and culture of Black punk, but it's more than that. It is a celebration of the bands, the organizers, and the artists who have kept the punk genre alive--and who have transformed it into the innovative, inclusive genre it should have always been. With contributors like Hanif Abdurraqib, Mars Dixon, Osa Atoe, and more, Black Punk Now is required reading for all the punks in your life.


The Complete Emily the Strange: All Things Strange By Rob Reger, Jessica Gruner, Brian Brooks, Buzz Parker (Illustrator), Ryan Hill (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rob Reger, Jessica Gruner, Brian Brooks, Buzz Parker (Illustrator), Ryan Hill (Illustrator)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781506722016
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Dark Horse Books - February 23rd, 2021

"Since the '90s, Emily the Strange has been incomparable representation for the odd, spooky girls (and gays and theys). This collection of graphic novels, originally published in the early '00s, follows thirteen year old evil-scientist Emily as she experiments with golems, potions, and all things creepy-crawly (with the help of her many black cats). You'll find yourself falling in love with the irreverent, cynical, spooky lens with which Emily views the world. For fans of Edgar and Ellen, Nightmare Before Christmas, and the Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy. Buy this book for all the weirdos in your life!" 


Staff Pick Badge
Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl By Andrea Lawlor Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525566182
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Vintage - April 23rd, 2019

"Required reading for the queers! Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl serves as a smutty overview of 90s queer history through the eyes of Paul, a shapeshifting college student who has dated anyone and everyone (and lived to tell the tale). When Paul realizes that he can use his shapeshifting ability to explore the more complicated aspects of his gender identity, he unlocks a part of himself, and his community, he had never before experienced. Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl is self-aware and totally delicious, perfect for cis and trans readers alike. Jerakah gives it 5 super gay stars!!"


The Meat and Spirit Plan By Selah Saterstrom Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781566892018
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Coffee House Press - September 1st, 2007

In this dark, experimental novel, Selah Saterstrom explores the Southern town of Beau Repose as a self destructive, strung out teenager, fascinated by the everyday grotesque of her community. After she is forced into rehab and private school, she ends up studying theology in Scotland, where the similarities to her dead-end hometown ignite a different kind of lonely, homesick fire within her. As she grapples with the destruction she left behind as a teenager, she returns to Beau Repose, ready to reckon with her own twisted legacy.