I LOVE MYSELF!

These are some of our favorite picture books, middle-grade novels, and young adult novels that feature joy, cheer, love, self-discovery, family, friendships. Pick one of these up to venture on a journey of good feels. 

 

 

 

list curated by Kim, Amanda, and Deidre

 

 

 

Check out the rest of our curated book lists here

 

 

 

 

 

The Sun Is Also a Star By Nicola Yoon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780553496710
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - March 5th, 2019

The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!


Hair Love By Matthew A. Cherry, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525553366
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

A New York Times Bestseller and tie-in to Academy-Award Winning Short Film "Hair Love"
 
"I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this."


My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich By Ibi Zoboi Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399187353
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed.


Something to Say By Lisa Moore Ramée Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836717
Availability: Backordered
Published: Balzer + Bray - July 14th, 2020

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.


Each Tiny Spark By Pablo Cartaya Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451479723
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kokila - August 6th, 2019

From award-winning author Pablo Cartaya comes a deeply moving middle grade novel about a daughter and father finding their way back to each other in the face of their changing family and community.

A SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD HONOR FOR MIDDLE GRADE


Any Day with You By Mae Respicio Cover Image
$16.99
Out of Stock - Not Available
ISBN: 9780525707578
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - May 5th, 2020

A warm, tender story about a creative girl who hopes that by winning a filmmaking contest, she'll convince her great-grandfather not to move back home to the Philippines. For fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Kelly Yang.


You Should See Me in a Crown By Leah Johnson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

A TIME Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

A Stonewall Honor Book

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town.


Let's Talk About Love By Claire Kann Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250294500
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - June 4th, 2019

Striking a perfect balance between heartfelt emotions and spot-on humor, this YA debut features a pop-culture enthusiast protagonist with an unforgettable voice sure to resonate with readers.


Don't Date Rosa Santos By Nina Moreno Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368039703
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2019

For fans of Gilmore Girls and To All the Boys I've Loved Before, this effervescent love story from debut author Nina Moreno will sweep you away.

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea—at least, that's what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you're a boy with a boat.

But Rosa feels more caught than cursed.


I Believe in a Thing Called Love By Maurene Goo Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250158413
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - May 8th, 2018

A funny young adult novel about a Korean-American girl who uses K-Drama techniques to snag the boyfriend of her dreams.

One of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2017

One of Seventeen.com's Best YA Books of 2017
"Hilarious." Publishers Weekly, starred review


I Am Enough By Grace Byers, Keturah A. Bobo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Grace Byers, Keturah A. Bobo (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062667120
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 6th, 2018

A #1 New York Times bestseller and Goodreads Choice Awards picture book winner! This is the perfect gift for mothers and daughters, baby showers, and graduation.


When Dimple Met Rishi By Sandhya Menon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481478694
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 22nd, 2018

The inspiration for the Netflix original series Mismatched!
A New York Times bestseller
A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021)
An NPR Best Book of 2017
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of 2017
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2017
A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2017


A Good Kind of Trouble By Lisa Moore Ramée Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836687
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 12th, 2019

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.


Ghost (Track #1) By Jason Reynolds Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481450164
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 29th, 2017

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of the acclaimed Track series from Coretta Scott Ki


Juliet Takes a Breath By Gabby Rivera Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author


The Gemini Mysteries: The North Star (The Gemini Mysteries Book 1) By Kat Shepherd Cover Image
$7.99
Out of Stock - Not Available
ISBN: 9781499810974
Published: Yellow Jacket - March 3rd, 2020

"With characters who grab your attention, illustrations that invite you to play along, and a plot with more twists than a country road, get ready for a fast and fun mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. How do I sign up to join the Gemini Detective Agency?"
- James Ponti, Edgar-award winning author of the FRAMED!