Holly's Favorites of the Year

Books took me globe-trotting, time-traveling, and heart-excavating this year. Essays & short stories provided kind-hearted skewering of the chaotic world we are all stumbling our way through and made me feel less alone. Memoirs offered hard-won truths, earnest young protagonists seized my heart, and masterful historical fiction interrogated human nature in all its messy beauty. It was a good reading year, y'all. 

  –Holly, Brooklyn


 

Staff Pick Badge
Girly Drinks: A World History of Women and Alcohol By Mallory O'Meara Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335282408
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Hanover Square Press - October 19th, 2021

*A Finalist for the Spirited Award for Best New Book on Drinks Culture, History or Spirits*
*A Guardian Best History and Politics Book of 2022*


"At last, the feminist history of booze we've been waiting for " --Amy Stewart, author of The Drunken Botanist


Staff Pick Badge
My Broken Language: A Memoir By Quiara Alegría Hudes Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399590061
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: One World - January 11th, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • The Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright and co-writer of In the Heights tells her lyrical story of coming of age against the backdrop of an ailing Philadelphia barrio, with her sprawling Puerto Rican family as a collective muse.


Staff Pick Badge
Briefly, A Delicious Life: A Novel By Nell Stevens Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982190941
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Scribner - July 19th, 2022

*A Cosmopolitan Best Book of Summer * One of BuzzFeed’s Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Books*

An “exquisite…too lovely to bear” (The New York Times Book Review) debut novel from an award-winning writer: a playful and daring tale about a teenage ghost who falls in love with the writer George Sands.

In 1473, fourteen-year-old Blanca


Staff Pick Badge
The Strange Inheritance of Leah Fern By Rita Zoey Chin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781612199863
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Melville House - October 4th, 2022

"[an] imaginative debut..." - The New York Times


Staff Pick Badge
Acceptance: A Memoir By Emi Nietfeld Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593489475
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Press - August 2nd, 2022

“Nietfeld’s gifts for capturing the fury of living at the mercy of bad circumstances, for critiquing the hero’s journey even while she tells it, make Acceptance a remarkable memoir.” —The New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Resort: A Chronicle of Paradise, Profit, and Peril at the Beach By Sarah Stodola Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062951625
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Ecco - June 28th, 2022

A captivating exploration of beach resort culture—from its roots in fashionable society to its undervalued role in today’s world economy—as the travel industry approaches a climate reckoning


Staff Pick Badge
Mercury Pictures Presents: A Novel By Anthony Marra Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780451495204
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Hogarth - August 2nd, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The epic tale of a brilliant woman who must reinvent herself to survive, moving from Mussolini’s Italy to 1940s Los Angeles—a timeless story of love, deceit, and sacrifice from the award-winning author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena


Staff Pick Badge
Bewilderment: A Novel By Richard Powers Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324036142
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 1st, 2022

AN OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB SELECTION
An Instant New York Times Bestseller
Shortlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize
Longlisted for the 2021 National Book Award for Fiction
Longlisted for the 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Everyone on This Train I Love Them By Maeve Higgins Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143135869
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Books - February 1st, 2022

Deeply funny, moving, and urgent writing about a country that can feel broken into pieces and the light that shines through the cracks, from Irish comedian Maeve Higgins, author of Maeve in America.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Fight Night By Miriam Toews Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781635578171
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - October 5th, 2021

"Move over, Scout Finch! There’s a new contender for feistiest girl in fiction, and her name is Swiv." -USA Today, "Best Books of the Year"

"Toews is a master of dialogue." -New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice

"A revelation." -Richard Russo


The Heroine with 1001 Faces By Maria Tatar Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781324092360
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Liveright - September 6th, 2022

World-renowned folklorist Maria Tatar reveals an astonishing but long-buried history of heroines, taking us from Cassandra and Scheherazade to Nancy Drew and Wonder Woman.


Staff Pick Badge
Shit Cassandra Saw: Stories By Gwen E. Kirby Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143136620
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Books - January 11th, 2022

“Kirby has mastered the art of short fiction…A stunning collection from a writer whose talent and creativity seem boundless.”
—NPR


Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Form and Emptiness: A Novel By Ruth Ozeki Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399563669
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Books - June 14th, 2022

Winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction

“No one writes like Ruth Ozeki—a triumph.” —Matt Haig, New York Times bestselling author of The Midnight Library


“Inventive, vivid, and propelled by a sense of wonder.” —TIME


Staff Pick Badge
Unreconciled: Family, Truth, and Indigenous Resistance By Jesse Wente Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735235755
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Canada - June 14th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

WINNER of the 2022 Rakuten Kobo Emerging Writer Prize for Non-Fiction

A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Unreconciled is one hell of a good book. Jesse Wente’s narrative moves effortlessly from the personal to the historical to the contemporary. Very powerful, and a joy to read."


Staff Pick Badge
My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry: A Novel By Fredrik Backman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501115073
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Washington Square Press - April 5th, 2016

A charming, warmhearted novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller A Man Called Ove.

Elsa is seven years old and different. Her grandmother is seventy-seven years old and crazy—as in standing-on-the-balcony-firing-paintball-guns-at-strangers crazy. She is also Elsa’s best, and only, friend.


Staff Pick Badge
Unruly Saint: Dorothy Day's Radical Vision and Its Challenge for Our Times By D. L. Mayfield, Robert Ellsberg (Foreword by) Cover Image
By D. L. Mayfield, Robert Ellsberg (Foreword by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781506473598
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Broadleaf Books - November 8th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies By Tsering Yangzom Lama Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635576412
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 17th, 2022

International Bestseller
Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize
Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize
For readers of Homegoing and The Leavers, a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan family's journey through exile.