Holly's Best of the Year

I spent my reading year relishing the stories both by and about the traditionally stifled: the resilient, intelligent women who created the internet; the cold case about a murdered graduate student; the quiet, faithful work of friendship; the thoughts we harbor in secret about our worthiness and purpose. The unfurling narratives gave me new words for familiar experiences and fresh eyes for the ways I have yet to grow. 

  –Holly, Brooklyn


 

Staff Pick Badge
We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781538746851
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 14th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Named One of The Best Books of 2020 by NPR's Fresh Air * Publishers Weekly * Marie Claire * Redbook * Vogue * Kirkus Reviews * Book Riot * Bustle

A Recommended Book by The New York Times * The Washington Post * Booklist * The Boston Globe * Amazon * Goodreads * Buzzfeed * Town & Country * Refinery29 * BookRiot * CrimeReads


Staff Pick Badge
Transcendent Kingdom: A novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984899767
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Vintage - July 6th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed novel Homegoing is "a book of blazing brilliance" (The Washington Post)—a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZE


Staff Pick Badge
Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593329443
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Portfolio - July 7th, 2020

If you loved Hidden Figures or The Rise of the Rocket Girls, you'll love Claire Evans' breakthrough book on the women who brought you the internet--written out of history, until now.

"This is a radically important, timely work," says Miranda July, filmmaker and author of The First Bad Man.


Staff Pick Badge
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780063017504
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Harper Perennial - June 1st, 2021

“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light.


Staff Pick Badge
White Tears/Brown Scars: How White Feminism Betrays Women of Color Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948226745
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Catapult - October 6th, 2020

Called “powerful and provocative" by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, author of the New York Times bestselling How to be an Antiracist, this explosive book of history and cultural criticism reveals how white feminism has been used as a weapon of white supremacy and patriarchy deployed against Black and Indigenous women, and women of color.


The Secret Lives of Church Ladies Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781949199734
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: West Virginia University Press - September 1st, 2020

*FINALIST for the 2020 National Book Award for Fiction*
*WINNER of the 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award*
*WINNER of the 2020 Story Prize
*
*WINNER of the 2020 L.A.


Staff Pick Badge
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982167356
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Atria Books - July 6th, 2021

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.


Staff Pick Badge
Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984820389
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: One World - March 2nd, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD WINNER • ONE OF TIME’S 100 MOST INFLUENTIAL PEOPLE • A ruthlessly honest, emotionally charged, and utterly original exploration of Asian American consciousness


Staff Pick Badge
Site Fidelity: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393531824
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 15th, 2021

Longlisted for the 2022 PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Short Story Collection

Set in the western sagebrush steppe, Site Fidelity is a vivid, intimate, and deeply human exploration of life on the shifting terrain of our changing planet.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400052189
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Crown - March 8th, 2011

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “The story of modern medicine and bioethics—and, indeed, race relations—is refracted beautifully, and movingly.”—Entertainment Weekly


Staff Pick Badge
Infinite Country: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982159474
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - October 5th, 2021

A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK and INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE 2021 NEW AMERICAN VOICES AWARD, LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL, AND A NATIONAL ENDOWMENT OF THE ARTS “BIG READS” SELECTION

“A profound, beautiful novel.” —People * “Poignant.” —BuzzFeed


Staff Pick Badge
Nowhere Girl: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781616208202
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Algonquin Books - June 15th, 2021

“An absolutely breathless read.


The Last Girl: My Story of Captivity, and My Fight Against the Islamic State Cover Image
By Nadia Murad, Amal Clooney (Foreword by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524760441
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Tim Duggan Books - October 16th, 2018

WINNER OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE • In this “courageous” (The Washington Post) memoir of survival, a former captive of the Islamic State tells her harrowing and ultimately inspiring story.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Migrations: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250204035
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Flatiron Books - July 6th, 2021

* INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER *

"Visceral and haunting" (New York Times Book Review) · "Hopeful" (Washington Post) · "Powerful" (Los Angeles Times) · "Thrilling" (TIME) · "Tantalizingly beautiful" (Elle) · "Suspenseful, atmospheric" (Vogue) · "Aching and poignant" (Guardian)
· "Gripping" (The Economist)


Staff Pick Badge
See No Stranger: A Memoir and Manifesto of Revolutionary Love Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525509110
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: One World - September 7th, 2021

An urgent manifesto and a dramatic memoir of awakening, this is the story of revolutionary love.

Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize • “In a world stricken with fear and turmoil, Valarie Kaur shows us how to summon our deepest wisdom.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love
 


Anxious People: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501160844
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Washington Square Press - July 6th, 2021

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller, the new novel from the author of A Man Called Ove is a “quirky, big-hearted novel….Wry, wise and often laugh-out-loud funny, it’s a wholly original story that delivers pure pleasure” (People).

Looking at real estate isn’t usually a life-


Staff Pick Badge
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781324001935
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 14th, 2021

An Instant New York Times Bestseller • #1 Los Angeles Times Bestseller • #1 Indie Hardcover Nonfiction Bestseller • Longlisted for the 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction • A New York Times Editors' Choice • A Washington Post Notable Book of 2021 • A Goodreads Choice Award Finalist • An NPR 2021 Best Book of the Year • A New York Public Li