Hanz

If I was at a party surrounded by the characters from my personal library, I'd see tons of humble queer bipoc folk from sci-fi &  fantasy universes bonding with the global proletariat who've all struggled to build community inward and outward.  With the added bonus of absolutely excellent food fully representing our fine blue marble. Admission is free but we'll ask you a odd question at the door.

Staff Pick Badge
Bubble Cover Image
By Jordan Morris, Sarah Morgan, Tony Cliff (Illustrator), Natalie Riess (Contributions by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250245564
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: First Second - July 13th, 2021

A potentially dark terrifying scenario that is turned into a fun thrilling romp centered around an app for monster hunting. Modern satire, great action, and heart warming character growth are the recipe that made this a graphic novel that kept me up on a 2am subway ride home. For fans of Saga, Adventure Zone , Bryan lee O'Malley , Rat Queens and Infinity Train.


Staff Pick Badge
Suncatcher: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593124819
Availability: Backordered
Published: Random House Graphic - May 19th, 2020

"The author skillfully weaves Mexicali and the time period's music scene (1990s -2001ish) so well in every beautiful panel. A story that is perfect for any artist, or maker of any kind & any age. I've read this thrice already. "


Staff Pick Badge
My Baby First Birthday Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793811
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Tin House Books - May 12th, 2020

An evocative & emotionally honest cultural analyzation breaking down motherhood, being Chinese in America, femininity, and dealing with modern colonization. Most of all its a fun uninhibited writing style that reads like being at a great night in the Nuyorican(Slam poetry club). This is a poetry collection to read slow as it does get repetitive at times


Staff Pick Badge
First, Catch: Study of a Spring Meal Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802148223
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - March 10th, 2020

"A conversation in the humanization of cooking. Full of how to's as well as personal takes. Teach yourself how to experiment, and know what matters."


Pizza Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385545723
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - June 9th, 2020

*LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST*
 
"Fresh, funny, bittersweet...This book delivers humor, humanity and hubris."--New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
Fifty Words for Rain: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524746360
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - September 1st, 2020

"For fans of Panchiko and historical fiction about characters in the margins. Lemmie brings to life a harrowing story with a unique voice for the interpretation of the characters of the pain as they grow. An amazing balance between healing and pain."


Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

A read I devoured and immediately felt lost without. The worldbuilding and characters are so well weaved. Each kept giving depth to the other. Making the mystery of this world  much more engrossing, shocking and satisfying. A book for those that want to get out of their heads & love nature.  


Staff Pick Badge
Exhalation Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9781101972083
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Vintage - June 30th, 2020

"A dizzying and utterly captivating tale. The concepts touched in this book are often confusing but by putting faith in readers Ted Chiang welcomes us to an utterly pragmatic way of writing. Every short story weaves in itself several times and constantly becomes stronger for it. Delivering strong universal messages that are fulfilling and well earned. It's almost as if I read a perfect tale of mythology that had been revised & edited over 100 years to fit across time."


Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

"A beautiful graphic novel connecting cultures through fairy tales to tell an immigrant story of coming out, acceptance of self, and accepting others."


Staff Pick Badge
Coconut & Sambal: Recipes from my Indonesian Kitchen Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781526603517
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - October 13th, 2020

"Lara Lee has made a cookbook that acts as a culture guide that doesn't cut corners While being accessible, diverse, and approachable by choosing recipes that have a good overlap with the "global kitchen". If you are looking to put new flavors into your life and love spice picks this up. My menu for this cookbook:

App Martabak pg 37

Soup Modenese Prawn Bisque pg 63

Salad Balinese Coconut Lawar pg 94

Balinese Sticky Glazed Pork Ribs pg 176

Sticky ginger toffee pudding pg 237"


Staff Pick Badge
Dawn (Lilith's Brood #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538753712
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 27th, 2021

"One of my all time favorite book one of a series has finally been re-released. Octavia Butler cements her unique piercing and relatable style in the novel where aliens are truly aliens. Reversing the question of "what would aliens be like?" to place it on our society has an amazing result. I have read this novel multiple times in one sitting. The strong narrative and metaphors lead to a book with unstoppable "Couldn't Put It Down"-ness."


Staff Pick Badge
Witch Hat Atelier 1 Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781632367709
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kodansha Comics - April 9th, 2019

"A beautiful baroque inspired art style fills out this somewhat typical but still refreshing vol.1. You'll seem some tropes in the main cast but the world is clearly pushing and pulling them in directions you rarely see. If you are a fan of Bofuri, Little Witch Academia as well as Hunter x Hunter give this a read."


Staff Pick Badge
Network Effect: A Murderbot Novel (The Murderbot Diaries #5) Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781250229854
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Tordotcom - March 30th, 2021

"The most human relatable characters I've read this year is are a robot and a spaceship. A radically thrilling & evocative novel that paces itself so well I found myself marveling at the feat of editing and deliberate story telling. The Space Trucker Book Club gave it all thumbs up! A space opera must read."


Staff Pick Badge
Act Your Age, Eve Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #3) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062941275
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Avon - March 9th, 2021

"A little over 100 of 375 pages were dog-eared for making me laugh out loud, relate so much it hurt, and pushing a narrative forward that need to be said. A romance truly about everyday people."