WORD Presents Rebecca Kaiser Gibson

02/16/2023 - 7:00pm

Join us to celebrate Rebecca Kaiser Gibson's new book, Promise of a Normal Life. Rebecca will be in conversation with Scott Schomburg.

FREE EVENT! Limited Seating + Additional Standing Room; RSVP below

Masks appreciated!

*Please note event space is only accessible by stairs; we do not have an elevator.*

 

About The Promise of a Normal Life

Hailed as “radiant and transporting” (Margot Livesey), The Promise of a Normal Life is a poet’s debut novel, so evocative of life as lived that it transports you to a time and place you can practically see, touch, and feel. The unnamed narrator is a fiercely observant, introverted Jewish-American girl who seems to exist in a private and separate realm. She's the child of a first-generation doctor and lawyer—whose own stories have the loud grandeur of family legend—in an America where Jews are excluded from the country club across the street. Her expectations for adulthood are often contradictory. In the changing landscape of the 1960s, she attempts to find her way through the rituals of life, her geography expanding across the country, across the ocean, and into multiple nations.  Along the way, she meets a glamorous hairdresser on a cruise ship to Israel, loopy tarot-card-reading passengers, and Alice-in-Wonderland lawyers in Haifa. There’s a blue-eyed all-American college boyfriend, a mystified tourist agent in the Lofoten Islands, a handsome eligible rabbi in LA, a righteous and self-absorbed MIT professor, and a clandestine, calculating lover in Boston. Eventually, she finds her own compass, but only after being swept to several distant shores by many winds.

About the author:
REBECCA KAISER GIBSON is the author of the poetry collections Girl as Birch and Opinel. Her work has appeared in Slate, Agni, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Northwest Review, the Massachusetts Review, Tupelo Quarterly, Harvard Review, Green Mountain Review, Pleiades, and many other magazines. She taught creative writing at Tufts University for twenty‐three years and has received writing fellowships from MacDowell, Vermont Studio Center, the Virginia Center for Creative Arts, and the Massachusetts Cultural Council. She lives in Marlborough, NH.

 

In conversation with

Scott Schomburg was born in Ohio, and he currently lives in New York City. His essays have appeared in The Paris ReviewAfter the Art, and elsewhere. He was awarded a fellowship from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and he is currently writing about the life and work of Joseph Mitchell.

 

Interested in a signed copy but unable to attend the event?

Use the listing below to purchase a copy and leave us a note in the "Notes" field saying you'd like a signed one! We offer pick-up and shipping options. 


 

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Promise of a Normal Life: A Novel By Rebecca Kaiser Gibson Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781956763331
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Arcade - February 7th, 2023

For readers of Marilynne Robinson, Elizabeth Strout, and Katie Kitamura, the indelible journey of a quiet young woman—the “silent person” in the Seder—finding her way.


RSVP Form: 

RSVP for Rebecca Kaiser Gibson, Feb 16th, 2023

RSVP below for WORD Presents Rebecca Kaiser Gibson, February 16, 2023 at 7:00PM

at WORD Brooklyn (126 Franklin St, Brooklyn, NY, 11222).

Do not attend the event if you are feeling ill. Location and time subject to change.

All fields marked with '*' denotes mandatory fields