In the Beautiful Country (MP3 CD)

In the Beautiful Country By Jane Kuo, Sura Siu (Read by) Cover Image
By Jane Kuo, Sura Siu (Read by)
$41.99
Out of Stock - Not Available

July/August 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“Honest and vulnerable, In the Beautiful Country is a unique insight into ‘the immigrant experience.’ This novel-in-verse told by an 11-year-old girl is a lovely, emotional read! I loved the character growth and Kuo’s evocative writing.”
— Hannah Stewart, The Wandering Jellyfish Bookshop, Niwot, CO

Description


For fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhh Lại, this is a stunning novel in verse about a young Taiwanese immigrant to America who is confronted by the stark difference between dreams and reality.

Anna can't wait to move to the beautiful country--the Chinese name for America. Although she's only ever known life in Taiwan, she can't help but brag about the move to her family and friends.

But the beautiful country isn't anything like Anna pictured. Her family can only afford a cramped apartment, she's bullied at school, and she struggles to understand a new language. On top of that, the restaurant that her parents poured their savings into is barely staying afloat. The version of America that Anna is experiencing is nothing like she imagined. How will she be able to make the beautiful country her home?

This lyrical and heartfelt story, inspired by the author's own experiences, is about resilience, courage, and the struggle to make a place for yourself in the world.



Product Details
ISBN: 9798200972746
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: June 28th, 2022
Language: English