A Bride's Guide to Marriage and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery #5) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Bride's Guide to Marriage and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery #5) By Dianne Freeman Cover Image
$16.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“Pure unadulterated fun” (Publishers Weekly) for fans of Ashley Weaver, Deanna Raybourn, and Tasha Alexander, the Agatha Award-winning Countess of Harleigh Mysteries are a witty romp through the high society of Victorian England with a touch of romance, an appealing and independent female lead, and rich historical detail. In this charming fifth installment, Frances Wynn, the American-born Countess of Harleigh, finds her wedding day overshadowed by murder . . .

On the eve of her marriage to George Hazelton, Frances has a great deal more on her mind than flowers and seating arrangements. The Connors and the Bainbridges, two families of American robber barons, have taken up residence in London, and their bitter rivalry is spilling over into the highest social circles. At the request of her brother, Alonzo, who is quite taken with Miss Madeline Connor, Frances has invited the Connor family to her wedding. Meanwhile, Frances’s mother has invited Mr. Bainbridge, and Frances fears the nuptials may end up being newspaper-worthy for all the wrong reasons.

On the day itself, Frances is relieved that Madeline’s father is not among the guests at the church. The reason, however, is most unfortunate: Mr. Connor is found murdered in his home. More shocking still, Alonzo is caught at the scene—holding the murder weapon.

Powerful and ruthless, Connor appears to have amassed a wealth of enemies. Frances and George put their wedding trip on hold to try and clear Alonzo’s name. But there are secrets to sift through, not just in the feuding families, but also in their own. With a killer determined to evade discovery—even if it means taking another life—Frances’s newlywed days will be perilous indeed . . .

About the Author


Dianne Freeman is the acclaimed author of the Agatha and Lefty Award-winning Countess of Harleigh Mysteries, a two-time finalist for the Macavity’s Sue Feder Memorial Award, and a finalist for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She spent thirty years working in corporate accounting and finance and now writes full-time. Born and raised in Michigan, she and her husband now split their time between Michigan and Arizona. Visit her at DiFreeman.com.

Praise For…


Praise for A Bride’s Guide to Marriage and Murder by Dianne Freeman

“Clever plotting matches appealing characterizations. Freeman continues to delight.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“The Victorian backdrop perfectly sets off this amusing and challenging romantic mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“The fifth in Freeman’s “Countess of Harleigh Mystery” series is a delightful cozy that educates readers about the role of women in Victorian England and entertains at the same time.” —Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496731647
ISBN-10: 1496731646
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Countess of Harleigh Mystery