The Last Word: A Novel (Paperback)

The Last Word: A Novel By Katy Birchall Cover Image
$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
WORD Brooklyn
2 on hand, as of Mar 1 5:06am
(ROMA-)

Description


"Birchall's effervescent novel combines an engaging enemies-to-lovers story line with a vibrant London setting." ––Shelf Awareness

A young journalist puts her career––and her heart––on the line when her former work nemesis is hired in her newsroom, for fans of The Hating Game and Beach Read.

Harper Jenkins is at the top of her game. A brilliant, determined journalist with a well-known knack for getting tight-lipped Hollywood stars to open up to her, Harper loves her job as Celebrity Editor at a newspaper’s glossy weekend magazine and has the best contacts in the business.

But when her awful boss hires talented reporter Ryan to be the new Features Editor, Harper is furious. Because the two have met before: a decade ago, they were interns at the same publication, where they fell into a whirlwind romance…until Ryan betrayed Harper, and they never spoke again.

Thrown together in a busy newsroom, their dynamic is a disaster from the start. They can’t agree on anything and bicker constantly—Ryan can’t bear how chaotic and messy Harper is; Harper finds Ryan’s condescending nature infuriating. They clash over who’s writing what article, and fight over who’s going to which event.

Yet as they’re forced to spend more and more time together, Harper realizes she may have misjudged Ryan and can’t help but feel a spark growing between them. Long buried feelings start to resurface and, when they’re thrown together on a romantic press trip abroad, their chemistry comes to a head.

But all is fair in love and magazines, and with the news that layoffs across the department are imminent, Harper is left to wonder: who will get the last word?

About the Author


Katy Birchall is the author of The Wedding Season and The Secret Bridesmaid, as well as numerous books for young readers. A former editor for Country Life magazine, she studied English literature and linguistics at the University of Manchester and currently lives in London.

Praise For…


Praise for The Last Word:
"Ryan and Harper’s chemistry is undeniable and their constant competitions are exhilarating. Fans of the enemies-to-lovers trope should check this out." -Publishers Weekly

"This enemies-to-lovers romance from Birchall is the perfect office-love story and readers will fall for Harper and Ryan and their second-chance romance." -Library Journal

"Full of the fun and flash of fast-paced journalism, Katy Birchall’s latest is a swoony, sharp romance of hearts and headlines. We have only glowing words for The Last Word." -Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of Do I Know You?

Praise for Katy Birchall:
"A pure delight." -BookPage (starred review)

"An utterly charming story about what to do when life hands you Something Blue: turn it into Something New." -Julia Whelan, author of My Oxford Year

"A fast-paced, well-written story." ­­ -Library Journal

"Charming, escapist fun." -Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250882752
ISBN-10: 1250882753
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English